Garbage Dump Dinner.

Sometimes, like last night, I have lots of leftovers but no idea how to make a coherent meal out of them. Sometimes it’s best to forget conventionality and simply everything together in a pot. At least that’s what I told myself last night.

I had leftover chicken, roasted pee wee potatoes and some produce in the fridge that needed to be used. So I chopped up an orange bell pepper, an onion, two cloves of garlic and a bit of fresh rosemary and threw it all in a pan with olive oil. I sauteed this mix until the onions were translucent. Then I added the chicken and potatoes, adding more olive oil as necessary and stirring until the potatoes and chicken were warmed through. Dinner was served. And it was delicious.

I had leftovers of my leftovers for lunch today, which I topped with some fresh basil. For some reason, it tasted better today. The sweet onion taste really pulled through and the basil provided a nice bite. The flavors really melded together overnight. Weird how that happens.

Luckily, I have one more serving of this delicious bowl awaiting me tomorrow. Now I’m off to cook things for the rest of the week, as I’m looking at an extremely busy schedule. I literally will not have time to cook this week since school starts this Wednesday. I’ll have to balance that with a full schedule of work since I picked up an extra shift! I’m excited but overwhelmed at the same time. Enjoy your Monday!

P.S. Can you see me in the spoon? Gotta love the head popping in on the first picture. :)

2 Comments

Filed under dinner, recipe

2 responses to “Garbage Dump Dinner.

  1. Kat @ a dash of fairydust

    I also need to start thinking about what foods I can prepare ahead for the week. I won’t be at home until 5 PM when my training starts,and there’s not much time left anymore until October 1st… At least,I try to pretend there wasn’t because I am SO excited already,hehe! :P

Leave a Reply

