Blackberry Crisp.

Now that I’m finally coming down from the craziness of this week and weekend, it’s time to share this little gem of a dessert that kept my sweet tooth satisfied throughout a stress-filled, overloaded week.

(Excuse the instagrammed photos; my phone is still having “storage” issues.)

When I was younger, my grandparents would take my sister and I blackberry and blueberry picking every summer when we came to visit them in Virginia. Out of the buckets and buckets of berries we collected, my grandmother would make pies for weeks, even months on end from the fresh and then frozen and thawed berries. Out of all the pies she makes, blackberry remains a favorite of mine for the sour, sweet burst of flavor it provides.

I decided to make two single serve blackberry crisps after I picked up two half pints of blackberries (for $2.99!) at a small Asian market last week. They were too sour to eat by themselves and they were going bad too quickly to keep in the refrigerator, so as I made and enjoyed the first blackberry crisp, I placed the second half pint of berries in the freezer.

This recipe occurred purely by coincidence, based on what I had in my pantry. I’d recently made a modified batch of Elana’s grain-free granola¬†using dates, pepitas, sunflower seeds and cashews and figured it would make a great crumbly topping. I was right.

For this recipe, you will need:
at least a half-cup of grain-free granola
1 half pint blackberries
1/2-1 tbs. maple syrup, to taste
1.5 tbs. coconut oil, preferably melted
yogurt or ice cream, for serving

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Grease a small ramekin with a small amount of the coconut oil. I often try to melt coconut oil by putting it in a small dish and submerging in in a larger bowl filled with hot water, but I’m often not patient enough to let it melt entirely.
3. Place blackberries along the bottom of the greased ramekin, making a second layer as necessary.
4. Pour maple syrup over blackberries. You might not need sweetener if your blackberries are naturally sweet, but unfortunately mine were not.
5. Mix together granola and remaining coconut oil in a small bowl, and place over top of the blackberries. I had a bit of trouble getting all the granola I used to fit inside the ramekin, so it’s good to pat it down!
6. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes. Make sure to check on the “crisp” part to make sure it’s not burning. You could potentially cover the crisp with tin foil but I was too lazy to do that and therefore got a few browned, but still completely edible spots.
7. Let cool for ten minutes. Serve with a dollop of plain yogurt or vanilla ice cream, and enjoy!

I got two servings out of this recipe, but could’ve easily eaten the whole ramekin in one sitting. I love how the heat really brings out the flavor and juiciness of these berries; it’s the perfect treat with which I say goodbye to summer.

6 Comments

Filed under grain-free, nutritious treats, paleo-friendly, recipe

6 responses to “Blackberry Crisp.

  1. Kat @ a dash of fairydust

    I love baked berries – it’s just like you say,they taste so juicy and delicious and I can’t get enough of them,really! :)
    Your blackberry crisp looks amazing and kudos for not eating the whole ramekin in one sitting… I don’t know I would have been able to do that myself,haha ;)

  2. Yum, looks wonderful! And how easy is that to make?! The topping looks nice and crunchy, which I love.

  3. Hey Kaitlyn! Have you ever tried oats in a savory dish? You might like it!
    Check out my recipes if you get a chance ;-)
    nutsoveroats.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

