First Successful Homemade Mayo.

Successful is the key word here. I’ve tried my hand at homemade mayo half a dozen times by now and it never turned out right — that is, until yesterday.

Up until now, I’ve always been impatient. Gotta use a machine, make it fast, don’t wanna hand whip… It never worked. And let me tell you, I had a revelation yesterday. The hand whip works. It may have taken me over an hour of whipping. But it worked! The emulsion didn’t break. (And I didn’t accidentally use a whole egg instead of just the yolk like last time!)

To make this mayo, I used one egg yolk, a half cup of organic olive oil and a tablespoon of fresh lemon juice. I mixed together the yolk and the lemon juice and then proceeded to add the olive oil one drop at a time, whipping in between. I’m honestly surprised the emulsion didn’t break because I did at one point whip out the Vitamix. And the food processor. But then I returned to the hand whipping method and the rest is history.

Mustard powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper. The mayo still tasted a little funny to me but perhaps that’s because I’m not used to an olive oil-based mayo.

I used it to emulsify-ha! a batch of curried cherry chicken salad. It worked wonderfully. Of course, before I destroyed my mayo I had to show my dad and stepmom how beautiful it was. I was seriously freaking out.  I will never again subject my homemade mayonnaise to the whirring blades of a Vitamix. It may take me two hours, but it will be well worth the wait.

2 Comments

Filed under lunch

2 responses to “First Successful Homemade Mayo.

  1. It’s better if you don’t use all extra virgin olive oil because it leaves too strong of a flavor. I recommend using mostly avocado oil or a more mild olive oil (not extra virgin, but it’s hard to find regular olive oil). The last time I made mayo, I was a little shy on avocado oil, so used a little bit of EVOO and it came out just fine. I’ve heard macadamia nut oil makes great mayo too.

Leave a Reply

