Skirt Steak Stir Fry.

Last week, I picked up a pound of grass fed skirt steak and knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. I had some coconut aminos in my fridge so a stir fry seemed like the obvious choice.

Stir Fry Ingredients:
1 pound grass-fed skirt steak
4 large carrots
1 red bell pepper
1 hot cherry pepper
6 mushrooms of choice
1 head baby bok choy
salt and pepper to taste
1-2 tbs. seasame oil, for frying

Sauce:
2 cloves garlic, minced
2-3 tbs. coconut aminos
2 tbs. almond butter
1 tbs. lemon juice
red pepper flakes
1 tbs. arrowroot powder to coat steak*

Garnish:
slivered almonds
chopped green onion

Directions:
1. Rinse steak and pat dry.  Cut steak into thin strips and coat with arrowroot powder. Season with salt and pepper. Set aside. *Arrowroot powder is not necessary, but it does help to thicken the sauce and coat the meat.
2. Julienne four large carrots, bell pepper and hot cherry pepper. Sliced the mushrooms and baby bok choy. Place carrots and bell peppers in one bowl, mushrooms and bok choy in another. Chop green onions and set aside.
3. Heat a large skillet and add sesame oil. Add steak in two batches (or according to the size of your skillet), cooking until the steak is just browned. This should take from 3-5 minutes for each batch if your skillet it hot. Remove steak from pan and set aside.
4. Add carrots and bell peppers to skillet, adding more oil if necessary. Saute for about five minutes, until the carrots are starting to soften, and add the mushrooms and bok choy.
5. Add garlic, coconut aminos, almond butter, lemon juice, and red pepper flakes to the vegetables. Season with salt and pepper and stir until the vegetables are evenly coated.
6. Add steak to the vegetable mixture and cook another 2-3 minutes, until steak is cooked through. Remove the stir fry from the skillet and into serving bowls. Top with silvered almonds and green onions.
Serves 4.

Although I really enjoyed the flavor of this dish, the steak was seriously tough. As in, I kind of couldn’t even chew some pieces. I read after making this dish that skirt steak generally is tough but that the toughness can be reduced by marinating the steak. Next time, I will definitely do that. In the course of my research, I also happened upon this hilarious and extremely sexist website. Any tips on skirt steak that don’t play into the gender bias?

And of course, Happy Halloween! My little sisters had a trunk-or-treat last Saturday and I thought they looked awesome! Lady Gaga and a crazy creepy skeleton. Kara (the skeleton) even offered me her Starburst when she got back.

What will you be for Halloween? I’m being a cashier at Whole Foods Market ;)

2 Comments

Filed under dinner, grain-free, paleo-friendly, recipe

2 responses to “Skirt Steak Stir Fry.

  1. Strange, I often make skirt steak (it’s one of my favorite cuts of beef!) and it’s never tough. It’s so thin that I don’t see how it could be tough. My only thought is that you overcooked it, making it chewy. When I make it, I pan sear or grill it for no more than 3 minutes each side. Then I let it rest for 10 minutes and thinly slice it. Also, I never marinade mine either — usually just season it with s&p and it’s always tender and juicy. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

