Quinoa Fail.

For dinner tonight, I wanted to use the leftover quinoa that’s been sitting in my fridge since Tuesday. It’s hard to get rid of when you make over four servings and live in a family of non-quinoa eaters. I’d made a mental note of Ashley’s post quinoa + eggs earlier in the week, and it seemed to be the perfect opportunity to try her Quinoa Egg Veggie Bake.

I essentially halved her recipe, and used:

1/2 c. pre-cooked quinoa

1 egg

1/2 c. diced tomatoes

1/2 c. frozen broccoli, thawed and chopped

1/2 clove garlic, minced

1/2 oz. fresh goat cheese

salt & pepper, to taste

I am only just realizing that I doubled the amount of veggies originally called for!

I followed her directions precisely:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and thoroughly grease an small baking dish. I used olive oil.

2. In a small bowl, crack + whisk the egg.

3. Mix in quinoa.

4. Stir in salt, pepper, garlic, tomatoes, and broccoli until just combined.

Are you loving the Buzz Lighyear bowl as much as I am?

Yeah…I used too many veggies.

5. Pour into baking dish and smooth down with fork/spoon/spatula.

6. Bake, uncovered for 22-26min, until lightly golden + set. [test with your finger for being set]

7. Remove from oven, turn your broiler on + sprinkle cheese on top.

8. Broil 1-3min, watching closely, until the cheese is bubbly.

I guess goat cheese doesn’t get bubbly? I broiled it for over 4 minutes, and it was still white as can be. After letting the bake cool for a few minutes, I tried to scoop it out and plate it…not the best idea. The quinoa mixture had stuck to the sides quite a bit and it was impossible to lift the bake out of the baking dish! Despite my best efforts to grease the dish with olive oil, a lot of the bake simply stuck to the sides. I actually had to fill the dish with soap and boiling water twice to fully clean it.

As for the bake itself, it tasted okay. I was pretty disappointed that it didn’t stay together, and ended up being a mess on my plate. I think that the amount of veggies I used (much more than called for) greatly contributed to the fact that it fell apart. I ended up dousing the bake in some tomato and hot sauce, with was also a bad idea. I mean, I ate it, but it could’ve been a lot better. Next time, I would obviously reduce the amount of vegetables used, and I’d probably also sprinkle some cheese into the mix, and then broil the rest at the end. Also, I wouldn’t do goat cheese again. It didn’t shred well. While I would give this recipe another try, I would be sure to line my pyrex dish with tin foil! I hope anyone else who has tried this recipe has reaped better results!

4 Comments

Filed under recipe, review

4 responses to “Quinoa Fail.

  1. recoveringfree

    HI! I totally had to type your blogname into google to find this 🙂 Love your blog idea and thank you for your comment! It made alot of sense and I love to read to the novel you wrote was great! I'm going to follow your blog because the recipes seem yummy and I need ideas for my new apartment :)For the record, I did get alot out of Brandywine and atleast it set me on some sort of track toward recovery and to know what I was deaing with.Can't wait to see more!xoxo Ellie

  2. Sorry I didn't write my name when I commented on your blog! I hope you can get some ideas from my blog and I hope you enjoy your apartment 🙂 I'm glad Brandywine set you on the right path, and I look forward to reading more of your posts!Kaitlyn

  3. I know why it stuck! You have to mix all of the ingredients before putting it in the greased baking dish. When you mix the ingredients around in the greased dish, it makes a huge mess. 🙂 I’ve had that happen before, when I forget an ingredient in one of my buckwheat bakes. I try to mix it in at the end, after I’ve realized, and then it’s always super stuck to the pan. Also, I find butter/coconut oil to work best for greasing and if you really want zero mess to clean up, use parchment paper. Works like a charm! 🙂

Leave a Reply

