Review: GT’s Gingerberry Kombucha.

Today I tried Kombucha for the first time. I picked up GT’s Gingerberry at Whole Foods the other day, mostly due to curiosity. Kombucha’s become such a craze in the blogosphere and also at Whole Foods; some people will buy a huge weekly supply, and those that do, say they love it. After researching a bit, I decided I’d give kombucha a try, though I’ve been hesitant. People say it tastes…different, vinegary even. How could that be good?

I was surprised when I first opened it and it fizzed like a soda. Then I remembered it was fermented, like beer, and the carbonation thus made sense.

I won’t lie, I definitely grimaced upon first sip. It is different, but the taste definitely grows on you. The Gingerberry flavor had a strong ginger flavor, but I couldn’t taste the blueberry puree. After a few sips, though, I started to enjoy the drink. It’s like a natural soda with very strong flavor, not very sweet, but tasty in its own right. I drank about half of the bottle today, as carbonated drinks really fill me up. I’ll probably finish the second half tomorrow.

I’ve read about the many health benefits of kombucha, and I wonder if it actually delivers. Overall, my first kombucha was an exciting and successful experience.

Have you ever tried kombucha? What’s your favorite flavor?
Have you reaped any health benefits from drinking kombucha?

5 Comments

Filed under review

5 responses to “Review: GT’s Gingerberry Kombucha.

  1. Sara

    hey!
    I came across your blog when I was just browsing around and am really fascinated by your interest in wholesome healthy food and using food as mental and physical nourishment instead of a way to control an out of control life. I myself am trying to do something similar. I am a little over two years recovered from a combination of anorexia and bulimia, so we have something in common (: i don’t have a blog right now but I visit yours a lot because I really enjoy reading it! I wish you best of luck in recovery, it is an amazing time, but it can also be very challenging. (I don’t think I need to tell you that haha) well anyway like you, I want to share my story and help others (even if you didn’t intend to do that, it’s what you are doing) so i made this video on youtube so take a look if you’re interested :))
    have a nice night! i admire you a lot

  2. Thank you! I’m so glad you can relate to my blog, and I’m even happier that I conveyed through this blog, to you, the things I intended to πŸ™‚ Thank you also for sharing with me some of your story/history. Your video was beautiful. I’m so sorry about your dad, and all the other stressful things you dealt with. An eating disorder is the ultimate coping mechanism, it just isn’t healthy. At all. And I think that it’s important for people to understand the reason behind the ED, the reason to stay with it. Otherwise, those with eating disorders can be regarded as having “trivial,” almost silly diseases, when that is not the case at all.

    I appreciate your comment so much! To be honest, I’ve been feeling a bit down today and your comment has helped cheer me up! Thank you πŸ™‚

  3. Sara

    Awe, I appreciate it, I really do πŸ™‚ I am glad you liked my video, even though it is a little dramatic and slightly self-pitying (isn’t that what us recovered ED patients are afraid of being seen as) it came from a real place.
    I know what you mean about how important the reason behind an ED is. we don’t just wake up one day and decide to lose weight to be skinny or look good for the prom or whatever. it may seem that way at first, even to us. but there is a lot of pain and uncontrollable emotions that lie behind an eating disorder which cause it to be so aggressive and dominating. we controlled what we ate because we felt like we controlled nothing else. although words cannot describe the shame, misery, and isolation felt, I want people to know there is a light at the end. I want to be a voice of hope from the other side. it’s funny., three years ago I would have NEVER imagined I would be going to school 8 hrs away from home, swimming on a Division I team, and living with 3 of my teammates who like to order chinese and papa john’s at midnight, but that’s what I’m doing. I don’t know if I will ever fully recover, but I do know that I will always be stronger than the voices that tell me I’m not good enough and anytime I ever get those feelings, I have better ways to cope now and an amazing support system.
    anyway, I’m sorry you were feeling down but I am glad my comment made you feel a little better. I love seeing someone smile and breathe through a toughy. I hope tomorrow is much better for you πŸ™‚

    ~Sara

  4. Sara

    oh and one more thing (I’m sorry for blowing you up here -last comment, PROMISE) I actually found your blog because I was trying to find someone on facebook who has the same name as you (except spelled differently, didn’t know that at the time haha) but anyway under your info I found the link to this page, I love looking at all kinds of blogs and yours had something food related in the title so I obviously had to look. anyway just wanted to let you know that we’re both from the same area! I thought that was really cool!

  5. It sounds like you’re in such good place right now! That’s great! I hope/believe you can stay there πŸ™‚
    If you don’t mind my asking, where are you from? And feel free to friend me if you want (on fb, that is πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

