Figgy Sandwich Cookies.

I have to start off by saying that Jay and I saw The Avett Brothers in concert last night, and had an amazing time! They had so much energy on stage and sounded great as well. Some favorites included Seth and Scott’s acoustic pieces. Armed only with a banjo, a guitar, and their voices, they played several songs in the simple, honest manner that I’ve learned to love so much. I swear there is nothing like hearing the two of them harmonize…except maybe Joe Kwon’s cello solos, which literally gave me chills. I would see these guys again in a heartbeat.

And now, the post that’s been gathering dust as a draft for over a week now. I wouldn’t dare call these fig newtons, because although their ingredient list resembles those famous cookies, and although they were intended to be an exact replica of those famous cookies, they turned out looking more fig-blob than fig newton.

For the filling, I used:
1 cup fresh Black Mission Figs, halved
4oz.of unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup orange juice

I followed this recipe for the crust:
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

I changed the crust recipe slightly by using a full egg instead of one egg white, and instead of using small stick of butter, I interpreted the recipe incorrectly, and used a big stick, i.e. twice the amount called for. Not the best idea.

I started off by adding the filling ingredients together:


Then I added the filling to a saucepan and brought the mixture to a boil. After the mixture started to boil, I reduced the heat to medium low and covered the pan for 3o minutes, stirring occasionally.

After thirty minutes, I poured the fix mixture into a bowl and mashed with a fork and a whisk. You could put the mixture in a food processor or blender if you want it to be thinner, but I didn’t feel like cleaning extra dishes.

It was such a rich, fall-y color, which you can’t really tell from this picture. Once the mixture was mashed, I covered it in saran wrap and set it aside. Next, I started on the dough by creaming the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Then I beat in the egg, vanilla, and finally, little by little, the flour.

After I finished making the dough, I put it in a bowl, covered it with saran wrap, and place it in the fridge along with the figgy mix. I let the bowls chill over night, because I was too tired to wait up another hour, and then form/bake the cookies.

Into the fridge they went!

After they chilled over night, I brought out my rolling pin and floured the counter. I rolled the cookie dough into a rectangle, cutting off any uneven edges.

I then topped the dough with the fig mixture, and cut the dough into strips.

After this, I got so frustrated at the dough and the process that I stopped taking pictures, in an effort to salvage the project. I was simultaneously making dinner for the kids, mind you, and later burnt my fingers on a baking sheet…fun.

To create the fig sandwich-esque cookie, I cut the strips of dough into squares and placed the squares on top of one another, creating figgy dough sandwiches. It would’ve been a lot easier had my dough been less melty and sticky. Next time I will follow the directions thoroughly.

I placed the cookies atop a baking pan lined with tin foil, and prayed. I baked these babies at 350 degrees for about 12 minutes on each side. You can see how much the extra butter and egg yolk affected the elasticity of the dough:

While my adapted recipe definitely did not create the perfect fig newton, the resulting cookies were quite delicious. I would love to make fig newtons again, and be more successful, but I’m not sure I have the patience!

I recommend eating these warm, straight out of the oven, on a gloomy fall day.


2 Comments

Filed under nutritious treats, recipe

2 responses to “Figgy Sandwich Cookies.

Leave a Reply

