I am the muffin man.

Monday night, around 10p.m., I had the burning desire to bake. I had raw almonds in the pantry, and some McIntosh apples slowly awaiting death by fruit fly. Something had to be done.

Both ideas had been wandering around in my brain for a few days, and I finally seized my free time to put thought into action: Honey Roasted Almond Butter and Apple Bran Muffins. The almond butter was a no-brainer. All we have right now is Skippy Natural, and it’s getting pretty old. Or maybe I just like almond butter better. Yeah.

I coated two cups of almonds with honey, and roasted them in the oven for fifteen minutes. To make sure they didn’t stick or burn, I coated my pan with cooking spray and turned the almonds over with a spatula every five minutes of roasting.

  Honey coated + toasted = roasted.

You can see a huge color difference from before and after roasting! After letting the almonds cool for about five minutes, I added them to my mini food processor and blended. I added about a tablespoon of canola oil, and some sea salt.

It actually didn’t take too long to blend, despite my mini food processor. Again, I used a bit too much sea salt, but the almond butter is still super delicious.

Stored in a leftover almond butter jar.

My urges to bake did not subside with the creation of almond butter. We had too many apples and too few apple lovers. So I decided on muffins. Apple bran muffins, that is. I followed Mama Pea’s recipe for Raspberry Oat Bran Muffins, and simply substituted apples for raspberries. The recipe was super easy to follow.

All I did was mix the wet and dry ingredients separately, and then I mixed them together!

Then I folded in the apples. And then you know, I baked them. And they were super delicious, especially when topped with almond butter. I’ve probably eaten two muffins with at least two tablespoons of almond butter every day since Monday. In fact, I might go get one right now.

Leave a comment

Filed under hail Mama Pea, nut butter, nutritious treats, oats, recipe, yum

Leave a Reply

