Pumpkin Perfect.

My goodness. Two semi-sunny days in a row? I’ll take it. Though I can’t say I’m a fan of getting out of the shower and literally freezing my butt off. Sweatshirts and blankets are a must this week. So are hot drinks. Lots of hot, warm drinks, included below for WIAW, which is a day belated due to my work schedule.

A breakfast of Trader Joe’s plain Greek yogurt, topped with Back to Nature Sunflower & Pumpkin Seed Granola, and sunflower seed butter. Paired with black coffee and some rather appropriate foliage. I don’t know what I’ll do when winter comes. I only like natural light, and you can already tell from this picture that it’s not as sunny as it used to be in the mornings.

Between classes, I enjoyed some green tea and read a book for class, The Hunger of Memory. So nice to be able to read before class instead of having to cram for a test, as I have the past two days! I actually really love the library here. I don’t like the computer section because you always have to wait for someone to get off a computer and literally jump on it when they get off. Not fun. The sitting section, however, is a great place to spread out and do work. There’s huge windows along the entrie wall, and it’s just very peaceful, with the sunlight shining through.

Although I didn’t necessarily enjoy this lunch yesterday, it was the most exciting lunch of the week:

Best tomato soup in the world, followed up with:

His and her sandwiches. The BLT for him, and The King Khan for me. All from House. Served with a side of pumpkin, and the best Bubs in the world.


We walked around a bit afterwards, which of course included a stop at Trader Joe’s. Right outside the store I saw the cutest display:

Yes, those are Fairytale Pumpkins! They’re actually called Cinderella Pumpkins, and you can read up on them here. I never knew they existed! But they are so magical looking. They remind me of fairies, or something mystical. If I had money to spare, I definitely would have bought one!

After school on Wednesday, I went straight to work. Of course, in my morning rush to get to school on time, I forgot to bring my apron. I ended up borrowing one from the maintenance closet that was nearly my own height, but it worked. I enjoyed an early dinner sitting outside in the beautiful weather:

A salad comprised of baby spinach, kale, radishes, red onion, quinoa salad, walnuts, and brown rice vinegar. Paired with sweet and sour tofu, some chicken cacciatore, and a view of even more pumpkins:

I’m spoiled.

About three hours later, I sat down to my next break, with a much needed pick me up.

Glowing & Flowing tea, and a vegan oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. I think I like Whole Food’s vegan chocolate chip cookies better than their regular ones. Probably because they’re made with oatmeal. That cookie made my night, as did the glowing fire and loving arms I returned home to. I may feel spoiled, but I also know that I am extremely fortunate for all that I have right now.

When I think back to this time last year, I had next to nothing. I honestly thought that there was no way out for me, that I would probably die because of my illness, on the bathroom floor, next to a toilet. That shame towards myself just kept me going. It’s with incoherent grief that I recall that point in my life. I never thought that the course of a year could change me so much, but it has. I never thought that it would be possible for me to survive, let alone live. For all of you who have helped me grow up, I thank you so much.

 

4 Comments

Filed under bubbaloo, love, recovery, whole foods, wiaw

4 responses to “Pumpkin Perfect.

  1. recoveringfree

    Old testament class? I need an update! 🙂

    • haha we haven’t got our test grades back yet! we’re learning about the difference between law from the old testament, and the gospel from the new testament. you can live vicariously through me! 🙂

  2. yummm! i love pumpkin 🙂 those pics make me want to go to a pumpkin patch or something haha

Leave a Reply

