Maple Pumpkin Blondies.

I realize I haven’t posted a recipe in ages.  That changes today. I’ve been thinking about pumpkin and blondies for a while now, and finally put two and two together, with a little maple syrup added for good measure. Blondies have always been a favorite of mine, much more so than brownies. (Sorry chocolate lovers!) They just have such a light taste, mixed with a richness and decadence that you don’t find in cookies. I figured pumpkin would add a nice, seasonal flavor to these, and would also put a good dent in my second can!

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour (or any flour of your choice)
1 tbsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. kosher salt
1.5 cups Earth Balance or butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
5 tbsp. maple syrup
1 egg
1 cup canned pumpkin
2 cup white chocolate chips

Instructions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9 x 13 baking pan with cooking spray. Then, combine the flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, salt, and stir. Next, cream together the brown sugar and Earth Balance. To that mixture, add the maple syrup and pumpkin puree. Mix the wet and dry ingredients, and then fold in the white chocolate chips. Pour into your greased pan, and bake for 25-30 minutes. Cool, and enjoy!

You could make so many additions and substitutions to this recipe, such as adding toasted pecans or walnuts, or using dark chocolate chips instead of white. My original intent was to use butterscotch chips, but Trader Joe’s didn’t have any! You could also veganize this recipe by using a flax egg, banana, or applesauce instead of an egg. No matter what you do or change, I hope you enjoy these as much as I do!


4 Comments

Filed under recipe, yum

4 responses to “Maple Pumpkin Blondies.

  1. Sara

    oh boy do these look good. send them this way! (haha kidding) I had these amazing pumpkin cinnamon rolls the other day courtesy of my wonderful suitemate. they were yummy! hope you enjoy these. Happy November!

  2. I’m also a fan of blondies over brownies. I really only like chocolate as a bar- call me silly. Looks good!

Leave a Reply

