Salad Three Ways.

Happy WIAW! It’s so nice to sit here with my computer, at home, in my pajamas, coffee in hand, with nothing to do. I can’t tell you the last time I’ve done this. Nor can I express how relaxed I am, at least until I have to go to work later.

With Thanksgiving only a day away, I’ve been preparing myself by consuming lots of vegetables. They make me feel good. They are good for me. Hopefully, my weekly diet will negate any gluttonous feelings I have after Thanksgiving dinner. It’s just one day. Even so, I am anxious for tomorrow, because last year I definitely left the table feeling over-full, and had to take a full dosage of Reglan (which aids in gastroparesis, and speeds up digestion!) I also gave one to my sister, because she felt super full too. But I don’t have those pills anymore. I’ve been dealing with the fullness, drug-free, for many months now. I know not to starve myself before Thanksgiving dinner, which so many people seem to do. I know that I don’t need to take huge serving sizes, because there will be leftovers for days. One thing I still need to work on, though, is the anxiety that surrounds a family meal, or rather, a nationwide feast.

Onto the real reason you came here, the food:

A breakfast of overnight oats, made with 1/3 cup oats,  1/2 cup coconut milk, 1 tablespoon plain greek yogurt, and ground flax. Topped with Michelle’s Cherry Chocolate granola and blueberries in the morning. You have to try this granola — it’s amazing.

For lunch, I made a huge salad, using a base of baby arugula, which I massaged in a bit of olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. I really wanted the greens to stand out. For the toppings, I roasted some brussels sprouts and carrots in the oven for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. As they baked, I sauteed some mushrooms and shallots in olive oil. It was a salad raw, roasted, and sauteed. It might seem like a lot of work, but the flavors and textures were worth it. Plus, I made enough to enjoy as leftovers today.

Just a week or so ago, I went to Seven Stones and tried their curried cauliflower soup. It was delicious. I decided to recreate the soup at home yesterday, by loosely following a Martha Stewart recipe. It turned out pretty good, if I do say so myself. Kelly tried it, and of course added about a pound of seasoning salt to her individual bowl.

I had this soup for dinner last night, and invited Jay over, as well. I topped the soup with a bit of greek yogurt and parsley, and paired it with some jalapeno cheddar bread. The pictures really don’t do the soup or the bread justice, as it was so dark and dreary last night. It’s still raining today! Let’s hope it holds off for tomorrow.

I hope you have a lovely, relaxing day before Thanksgiving.

4 Comments

Filed under oats, recovery, salad, wiaw, yum

4 responses to “Salad Three Ways.

  1. Looks like a day of good eats!

  2. Hell yeah multiple way salads! I mean, you kind of had to because raw mushrooms aren’t really all that awesome.

    I went to type “good luck” for tomorrow, but it isn’t really luck you (or I) need tomorrow, is it? So rather, I say, Stay Strong ❤

  3. recoveringfree

    I don’t know guys…I’m oddly SUPER PSYCHED for Thanksgiving this year. Probably because last year was bad and I’m a completely different person this year.

    P.S. You read my story yet Kaitlyn? 🙂

  4. Bubs

    My beautiful boo makes such wonderful (and colorful) food!

Leave a Reply

