Back to School.

School started up again for me yesterday, and I’m slightly depressed about it. I wish I could sleep in and read for at least another week.

So far I’ve been waking up early enough to eat breakfast at home. Yay!

Yesterday, I had a bowl of Three Sisters Chia Spiced Oatmeal with a bit of almond butter and a banana. This oatmeal is really good, especially if you’re in a rush!

My first class was Advanced Writing Autobiography/Biography. The rain, combined with the windowless room, plus my teacher’s lackluster review of the syllabus did not keep my attention for very long. After that class, I ran, literally ran, to my jazz class because it’s all the way across campus. I was ecstatic when she let us out early!

For lunch, Jay and I went to House, where I got the tomato soup and The Slugger, a sandwich comprised of slow cooked barbecue pork, kimchi slaw, and white cheddar. It didn’t look pretty, and I was starving, so I didn’t take any pictures. Although the flavor combo was good, I don’t think I’d get this sandwich again because I’m not much of a pork fan.

We’re such an attractive couple πŸ™‚

After lunch, I picked Kara up from school and sat around for a while until I could no longer keep my eyes open. I took a nap. One day into the semester and I’m already napping. Not a good sign.

For dinner, I started off with a salad of raw kale, shredded beats, walnuts, and apple cider vinaigrette. I followed that up with a bowl of spaghetti mixed with some sauteed swiss chard and red bell pepper.

It was my first time working with chard, and it turned out pretty good. I thought the dish looked like Christmas.

After dinner, I was in the mood for something baked. I so made an apple crisp pie. Pie crust on the bottom, crisp on top!

Rounded out with some vanilla ice cream, and enjoyed in the company of Jay. It was a good day back in terms of food, but I am so not ready to be back at school!

6 Comments

Filed under bubbaloo, nut butter, oats, salad, wiaw, yum

6 responses to “Back to School.

  1. EEE!! always sucky to come back, but after a week its all good again πŸ™‚

  2. Sorry you’re having such a sucky time adjusting! I hope you enjoy the new semester though. Fresh starts are always good πŸ™‚

  3. Your dessert looks delicious! Ice cream is always necessary πŸ™‚

  4. You look so mellow, love it! Hope all is well with school (and the car!) now. πŸ™‚ And that pie a la mode looks amazing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

