Leaps.

Happy Leap Day! It’s my cousin’s twenty fourth  sixth birthday today. My Old Testament teacher also tried to tell my class that it was National Pancake Day, but that was yesterday. I’ll try not to hold it against him. It is also, quite wonderfully, another What I Ate Wednesday.

Yesterday’s breakfast was hearty and filling because I had jazz class and a long day of work to look forward to. I combined oat bran with some of Michelle’s granola and mixed in almond butter and blueberries. I actually couldn’t finish this monster of a breakfast! Though I did eat all of the blueberries.

After rushing to work, I hastily composed a lunch of homemade crushed pistachio and red grape chicken salad stuffed between two slices of whole wheat bread. I would totally eat this chicken salad on it’s own, though. Grapes and pistachios are an automatic win in my book.

Over break, I enjoyed this lovely blueberry scone. It was my first time trying a scone from work, and it was delicious! Of course, some clotted cream would’ve made it even better, but I digress.

We had a power-hour from 5-6, which means we cashiers annoy the living hell out of every customer by asking if they’d like to donate to the Whole Planet Foundation. It’s a really wonderful organization, and 100% of the proceeds go directly to those in need, but people are stingy. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard, “No, I did that already,” or “Does it stay within this country?” or simply, “No, not today.” Whichever cashier gets the most donations within the hour wins a $5 token for lunch and a chance to enter a raffle for an itouch. To my surprise, I won last night! I really didn’t expect to win, because I only raised about $20, but I guess customers were feeling especially stingy last night. I have to thank the woman who donated $10. What a lady.

 For dinner, I heated up some of Monday nights leftovers. Jay and I shared a veggie stir fry of broccoli, mushrooms, onions, and carrots over a bed of brown rice and some diced chicken. It was pretty good, if I do say so myself. Almond butter is key.

When I got home from work, I composed a bowl of cottage cheese ! Hello, where have you been for the past year? I used to be obsessed with cottage cheese until Kelly bought too many bad brands and I got sick of the sour flavor. I was in the mood last night, so I bought some from work, the Friendship brand, and it was quite lovely. I topped it with a banana and the last of my granola. I couldn’t finish this bowl either! I think my eyes are too big for my stomach lately.

I am proud of myself, however, for stopping and not feeling like I had to finish every. single. bite. Since treatment, finishing my plate is something that I’ve really struggled with. It’s like I’m trying to make up for all of the food I wasted before (by purging), and almost punish myself by stretching my stomach beyond its limits. It’s hard to get away from the mindset that you must finish every single bite, the mindset that’s been instilled in me for the past five years or so. If I know that I am full, I should listen to my body and stop. It’s that simple. And it’s also that difficult.

2 Comments

Filed under nut butter, oats, recovery, whole foods, wiaw

2 responses to “Leaps.

  1. Hi! Just found your blog through WIAW. Your eats look delish! I’ve been posting lately about my obsession with cottage cheese lately too. You can do so many things with it and it’s so packed with protein and calcium…can’t beat it!

  2. Thank you! And cottage cheese is so underrated! I’m glad you share my affinity 🙂

Leave a Reply

