Review: Brad’s Raw Leafy Kale – Nasty Hot.

On Friday, I threw all monetary concerns out the window and put concern for my health at the forefront; I went grocery shopping. Usually I’ll just pick up a few things here or there after work, but I noticed this week that I’d run out of some stock items like maple syrup and vinegar, and I was completely out of fresh produce. I made a list and splurged on just a few things, one of them being Brad’s Raw Leafy Kale in the Nasty Hot flavor.

I always see customers checking out with these delicious-looking, trendy boxes of kale chips, but I’ve never been able to justify the price. At $7.49 a pop, with only 2.5 servings, they don’t run cheap. I broke down on Friday either way when I saw the Nasty Hot flavor, as I’m a sucker for anything spicy. I’ve also been dying to try them!

They read as “Vegan, Not Fried, Not Baked, Natural” and “Gluten-Free.” They’re dehydrated below 115 degrees and are thus technically raw. As for ingredients, these chips contain: kale, red bell pepper, cashews, sunflower seeds, lemon juice, jalapeno pepper, nutritional yeast, himalayan sea salt, and cayenne pepper. I wonder if they’d be cheaper if they just used regular old sea salt? As for nutrition, each serving is about 140 calories, half of which come from fat. These chips also contain over 100% of your daily values of both vitamins A & C!

When I first bit into these chips, I was surprised by how crunchy and spicy they were. Some of the chips have more of the cashew-based coating on them than others and are thus crunchier. However, most of the chips are light and crispy in texture. The flavor was spot on for my taste buds with the jalapeno and cheese flavors shining through quite distinctly. I actually had to stop myself from eating the entire container in once sitting. It would be easy to do, though you’d need a tall glass of water. These chips really are nasty hot.

I gave some to my parents to try. I believe I shoved the box into my Dad’s face and said, “Here, I can make you like kale!” His response: “Not bad.” He tends to roll his eyes at me whenever I make my own kale chips. I handed the box to Kelly, and she thought they were very spicy too.

Overall, I really enjoyed these kale chips and would definitely buy them again. The plusses include nutrient density, taste, and also the fact that these chips are made in Buck’s County, PA — not too far from where I live! The only minus is that these chips are super expensive. Brad’s Raw Leafy Kale will definitely remain on my shopping list, but on monthly or bimonthly basis due to price. If you’d like to learn more, you can check out his website! You can likely find Brad’s Raw Leafy Kale at your local Whole Foods. 🙂

* I was not paid to endorse this product; they were purchased on my own dime!

Leave a comment

Filed under nutritious treats, review, whole foods

Leave a Reply

