Veggie Quiche.

On Thursday at work, I decided to make a quiche. In between customers, I complied a grocery list on receipt paper to complement the slowly-going-bad items in my fridge: eggs, heavy cream, spinach, Manchego cheese. What better could I do than to make a quiche?

It didn’t take me long to compile a list, and I prepared to make the mad dash for groceries during my fifteen minute break. For the quiche, I decided on cremini mushrooms, shallots, and a prepared pie crust. Of course, I couldn’t just stop there and added to the list dates, frozen berries, granola and an almond croissant, which l shoved in my mouth while shopping.

On Friday I researched several quiche recipes, but I returned again and again to Julia Child’s famous Quiche Lorraine recipe. I wanted my quiche to be simple and traditional, or as close to the original as my taste buds would allow.

Ingredients:
For the crust, I simply heated up a Wholly Wholesome Organic Traditional Pie Crust for 10 minutes at 400 degrees.

For the filling, I used:
3 organic eggs
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup 1% milk
3/4 cup shredded Manchego cheese
2 cups baby spinach
6 cremini mushrooms
1.5 large shallots
1 garlic clove
1 tbs. olive oil
salt & pepper

I started off by preparing the pie crust; I popped it in the oven for 10 minutes at 400 degrees. Next, I chopped the garlic, shallots, and mushrooms. I heated a cast iron pan and added the olive oil, garlic and shallots. A few minutes later I added the mushrooms. Once the shallots and mushrooms were evenly coated in oil and had cooked down a bit, I added the spinach and lightly tossed it with the other vegetables. As I sauteed the veggies, I also tossed in a few sprinkles of salt and pepper.

Once I finished cooking the veggies, I whisked together the eggs and added the cream and milk. Then I whisked in the cheese. Next I added the sauteed veggies and stirred everything together, adding a few more dashes of salt and pepper. Then I poured the custard filling into the prepared pie crust and placed it in the oven for 35 minutes at 375 degrees. I checked the quiche every ten minutes, and noticed the custard was starting to brown at 35 minutes. I took it out then, but to solidify the custard more, I could’ve left it in for another 5 minutes.

Voila! I served the quiche on a bed of baby spinach lightly dressed in balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

 Jay had two pieces — a sure sign of success! This quiche basically melts in your mouth. I was quite pleased.

We followed up this lovely dinner with a Jay creation; coffee ice cream topped with walnuts and chocolate syrup. Jay introduced this combo to me many months ago and it’s been a staple dessert of ours ever since, often at my own insistence.

How could I ever pass this up?

Or this?! I have the best bubs in the world.

1 Comment

Filed under bubbaloo, grocery shopping, love, recipe, yum

One response to “Veggie Quiche.

  1. Pingback: Burger Salad Love. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

