Spring!

Has anyone else been loving the 70 degree weather lately? I’ve been spending some quality time outdoors, namely with this one:

She took all the stickers out of my school planner and tagged herself. Such a cutie.

It feels so lovely to let the wind pass by my bare arms on the way to school, to step outside and not freeze. It’s also been lovely to dine outside. As in, drink a spinach smoothie while taking pictures of Kara hula hooping, and then getting up to spin a few circles myself.

Onto the food. It really is fitting that this WIAW turned green this month. I’m sure we’ll be seeing a lot more green outside in weeks to come.

A lovely breakfast of steel cut oats made special with a dash of cream, maple syrup and cinnamon. Topped with some raw pecans.

I was so proud of myself yesterday for actually bringing leftover pasta to work. I snagged some green beans and chicken from the salad bar and threw it atop my penne alla vodka. I could literally (and sometimes do) eat vodka sauce by the spoonful.

Three hours into my shift I started to feel really weak so I took a fifteen minute break and snacked on these babies. Yesterday I pushed carts so I was walking a lot and using more energy than usual, but it’s still unnerving to get that shaky, weak feeling. Do you ever feel weak instead of hungry? I rarely feel my stomach grumbling; rather, I feel empty and sometimes, like yesterday, very weak.

By seven, I was feeling weak again and took my second break, wolfing down as much salad as possible. This bowl is actually from Monday, but yesterday’s was much the same, composed of baby spinach, romaine, chopped tomato, onion, Manchego cheese, avocado and homemade balsamic dressing.

When I got home from work I took a hot bath –necessary, as my toes were killing me– and later enjoyed this bowl of Oikos plain Greek yogurt topped with a slice of half-homemade apple crumb pie. Half-homemade because I used the other prepared pie crust that I had in the freezer.

After trying Oikos plain (with a coupon!), I have to admit I’m not a fan. It has a really sour taste and isn’t nearly as thick as Fage. Also, it doesn’t come in 2%, which I prefer due to taste and consistency. Perhaps the flavored varieties taste better, but I’m a plain yogurt kind of girl and use it as mostly a base for granola or nuts and honey, which have plenty of sugar by themselves.

Later today Jay’s coming over and we’re going to wash my car. Thank God, because my car’s a mess, and because it gives me an excuse to be outside! Enjoy this beautiful day!

Leave a comment

Filed under bubbaloo, oats, salad, wiaw

Leave a Reply

