Inspired by St. Patrick.

On Friday night I made reuben sandwiches for Jay and I in honor of St. Patrick’s Day. I know they’re more of an American invention, but corned beef and cabbage (in the form of sauerkraut) are essentially Irish, right? I picked up all the ingredients that day at Whole Foods/work and fired up the griddle around 7:30, when Jay got home from work. I assembled the sandwiches in the layers of: rye bread, swiss cheese, corned beef, sauerkraut, Russian dressing, corned beef, swiss cheese, rye bread. Then I buttered the griddle and placed the sandwiches on top.

To melt the cheese, I put a saucepan lid over the sandwiches. Lids are such wonderful devices, no? After a few minutes, I flipped the sandwiches and we sat down for dinner in no time.

I definitely enjoyed this dinner and most importantly, Jay loved it! Though I have to admit that in terms of deli sandwiches, I’m more of a turkey special kinda girl. I felt like a big grease ball after eating my reuben!

These Irish Potatoes were meant to be dessert, but Jay and I snacked on them during the day. I love, absolutely love, Irish Potatoes. We always ate them on St. Patty’s Day growing up, and this one girl in my glass made the best, soft, melt-in-your-mouth Irish Potatoes. She actually gave us the recipe, but I was too lazy to whip up a batch this year and instead bought not one, but two containers of them at work. When I first saw them I instantly bought a container and promptly ate three in a row. Needless to say, I felt queasy for the next hour. They were  delicious, yes, but also immensely dense and a sugar-shock to my system. Since then, I’ve limited myself to two at at time and I’ve felt loads better.

I was really surprised to find out that Irish Potatoes are basically a Philadelphia-area tradition and commodity. If you haven’t had an Irish Potato, you’re surely missing out and should make some A.S.A.P. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under bubbaloo, grocery shopping, whole foods

2 responses to “Inspired by St. Patrick.

  1. Mmm. Before I stopped eating meat, Corned Beef and cabbage was the best dish my mom made. She made it in the slow cooker so it fell apart 🙂
    You sandwich looks deceitfully good. Deceitful because I really hate Reuben sandwiches.
    P.s.- It’s nice to see you back!

Leave a Reply

