Birthday Girl.

Today was my Mom’s 29th 49th birthday! I took her out to get pedicures and treated her to some goodies from the Whole Body department at work. Have you ever smelled Zanzibar bath salts? To die for.

After some much needed pampering, we went to my Grandmom and Grandpop’s house for dinner. Grandmom was bustling about when we got there and I volunteered to make salads. Since dinner was about thirty minutes away and I was starving, I munched on mine before dinner was served.

I loved the colors in this salad! I took this photo pre-dressing because it was too pretty to mar with shiny oil. My Grandmom asked me to collect some daffodils from her rock garden outside to fill out the centerpiece. I happily obliged.

It was such a gorgeous day out and I’ve been dying to take a walk and photograph all the blooming trees! I remember one year on my Mom’s birthday it snowed. I’m not sure which is crazier; snow or 80 degree weather?

My Aunt Susie and cousin Allison showed up just in time for dinner.

On the menu was filet mignon and lobster tail, paired with cheesy mashed potatoes, peas and corn. I finished my entire plate — it was that good. I’m not much of a lobster or steak person, but everything was delicious and it went so well together. I have a newfound appreciation for the pairing steak and potatoes.

After dishes were cleared, we prepared for cake! We sang Happy Birthday and my Mom blew out her candles like a champ.

Tea and cake were served. The men were coerced into seconds.

Doesn’t get much better than from-scratch vanilla cake with cooked pink frosting. It was a lovely, lovely dinner. I love you, Mom. Happy Birthday 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under love, salad, yum

2 responses to “Birthday Girl.

  1. Ahh happy birthday to your Mom! It looks like you guys had a lovely day 🙂

Leave a Reply

