Sesame Peanut Noodle Stir-fry.

Last week as I was Googling uses for my remaining brown rice noodles, I came across this recipe over at Smitten Kitchen. I wanted to make more of a stir-fry with lots of veggies, so I adapted the recipe to fit my needs.

Ingredients

For the Stir-fry:
Two bunches of baby bok choy
10 baby carrots
5-6 button mushrooms
1 cup broccoli florets
1/2 red onion
1/2 package of Maifun brown rice noodles*

For the Peanut Sauce:
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1/3 cup warm water
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, peeled
1 medium garlic clove
1 1/2 tablespoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon sesame seeds, for garnish

*Next time, I would definitely use soba or pad thai style brown rice noodles, as the Maifun noodles were super thin and stuck together rather than mixing well with the vegetables & sauce.

1. I started off by prepping the vegetables. I julienned the carrots and chopped the onion and mushrooms, putting them in a small bowl. Next, I chopped off the stems of both the broccoli and bok choy and cut them into bite-sized pieces.

2. Once the vegetables were prepared, I soaked the Maifun noodles in warm water for six minutes and then drained them.

3. After preparing the noodles, I set them aside and turned to the peanut sauce. I added the ginger and garlic to my food processor first, grinding them into small pieces.  I then combined the peanut butter, hoision sauce, warm water, sesame oil and honey in a bowl. I mixed these ingredients together and poured them into the food processor, grinding the ingredients together for a good two minutes.

4. When the sauce was adequately combined, I added water to a large pan to steam the veggies. I added the mushroom/onion/carrot mixture first and let it go for about five minutes. Then I added the broccoli/bok choy mixture, keeping a close eye on them until the bok choy had wilted a bit and the broccoli was soft enough to poke with a fork.

Steamy!

5. When the vegetables were just lightly steamed, I added the peanut sauce and noodles to the pan, mixing everything together as best I could. As I mentioned earlier, they weren’t the easiest noodles to work with.

6. Lastly, I dished out bowls of the stir fry and forgot to top them with red pepper flakes and sesame seeds. There’s always next time, right? I actually enjoyed leftovers today with both sesame seeds and red pepper flakes; YOU SHOULD NOT LEAVE THIS STEP OUT.

Yummy, lovely, veggie-full bowl.

1 Comment

Filed under recipe, yum

One response to “Sesame Peanut Noodle Stir-fry.

  1. Pingback: Chips for Dinner. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

