Weekly Eats.

It’s really Thursday right now, but I  promise that I had everything ready to post earlier today…life just got in the way. I’ve been crazy busy with end-of-school projects and assignments, as well as work. We had a meeting tonight that lasted till 10:30 and I’m just now sitting down to write.

Yesterday’s breakfast was a winner.

Overnight oats in an almond butter jar. I used Bob’s Red Mill Muesli and heated it up in the microwave for a bit to melt the last of my almond butter. Topped with cinnamon and blueberries.

For lunch on Monday, I made a beautiful salad.

Spring mix topped with some red bell pepper, sliced tomato, leftover green beans, crumbled gorgonzola and tossed with a little too much of Cindy’s Kitchen Lemon Shallot Vinaigrette. This dressing is delicious and imparts a light, fruity flavor. I paired my salad with a some baby slices of toast, one buttered and one jellied.

Yesterday I had work and arrived with enough time to stop by Dia Doce, you know, that cupcake truck that won Food Network’s cupcake wars? The woman who runs Dia Doce often parks outside our store for business and I’m lucky whenever I have time to grab a cupcake before work.

I tried the cookie dough cupcake and wow. She won cupcake wars for a reason. The cake itself was dense and moist, with dark chocolate chips scattered throughout. My favorite part was the icing though, which I believe is made with brown sugar and tastes exactly like chocolate chip cookie dough. Heaven.

I made a wonderful dinner on Friday, inspired mostly by the recent Jewish holiday, Passover. I saw so many people check out of my line with Seder items and matzoh that I started to really crave latkes. They’re probably the only traditional Jewish food I’ve ever made before and we had a bunch of potatoes in the fridge, so I went to work.

Latkes served with a side of sauteed brussels sprouts and shallots, topped with a mixture of sour cream, ketchup and hot sauce. I’ll post a full recap of the latke-making process as soon as I find some spare time! This dinner was super filling and well worth the effort I put into it.

For dessert/snacking lately, I’ve been turning to strawberries. Kelly recently bought a hugh container and they’ve been so wonderfully sweet!

I hope you all had a wonderful Wednesday.

4 Comments

Filed under breakfast, nut butter, oats, salad, wiaw, yum

4 responses to “Weekly Eats.

  1. I recently bought some strawberries too, and mine were sweet as well. Probably, they seem sweeter because I have been eating frozen, out of season berries for all of winter!

  2. Kit-Kat

    The icing is always the best part for EVERY thing!!! It’s my favorite part of all desserts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

