Last Night’s Dinner.

Jay and I savored last night’s beautiful weather by dining outside. I picked up some fresh salmon from the seafood counter at work, which was pre-seasoned with crushed pistachios and Panko. I had some red potatoes and Brussels sprouts in need of use at home, so I roasted them along with some carrots and herbs.

I seasoned the veggies with oregano, thyme, rosemary, black pepper and salt, all tossed in olive oil and roasted at 400 for 50 minutes.

I simply placed the salmon in a greased baking dish during the last ten/fifteen minutes of roasting veggies and bumped the temperature up to 450 so that everything would be done at the same time.

It all turned out beautifully. The salmon was melt-in-your-mouth good, so much better than the one time I baked frozen filets. The veggies were super flavorful, albeit a little under-done, but I didn’t mind.

Salmon detail. My camera had a hard time zooming in on the crumb-like topping!

Delicious, simple dinner, enjoyed with just enough light before the sun set. I kind of can’t wait to make this meal again.

3 Comments

Filed under bubbaloo, whole foods, yum

3 responses to “Last Night’s Dinner.

  1. Sounds great! I was surprised to see pistachios still in the shell!
    (As I was reading along, I was wondering, “how did she get brussels sprouts and potatoes done at the same time?” But then you answered that. šŸ™‚

    I happened to just be reading this roasted brussels sprout recipe earlier today:
    http://lovefoodcookfood.com/2012/03/roasted-brussels-sprouts/

    I’ve just steamed them before, but I think I’ll try your more rustic method next time!
    http://kitchenconvivial.com/2011/11/16/orange-chicken-and-brussel-sprouts/

    • Haha yup, they garnished the fillets with a few in-shell pistachios.Roasted brussels sprouts are wonderful, just don’t over-pepper them like I did! šŸ™‚ I also love them sauteed with shallots, but then, I love anything with sauteed shallots.

  2. Pingback: Dad’s Birthday. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

