Maple Obsession.

I think we all know that Justin’s Maple Almond Butter is pretty much the best flavored nut-butter out there. Or is that just me? What about maple cupcakes? Do you like them? How about maple yogurt? Or maple syrup and maple almond butter mixed together on top of pancakes? I CAN’T BE THE ONLY ONE.

The following meals/snacks are a nice reflection of my love for all things maple:

Breakfast has been pretty standard lately.

Fage 2% topped with Michele’s Granola, blueberries, and an entire glorious packet of  maple almond butter.

Ever since Sunday I’ve been trying to eat up all those leftover roasted veggies that I made. On Monday I tried them straight, topped with a bit of shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano, which I bought half-price last week for our one day deal at work!

On Tuesday I decided to spice things up a bit with some added Vodka sauce and some more Parmesan. I also enjoyed two unpictured peanut butter stuffed dates for dessert.

It was team member appreciation day at work yesterday, so we all received tickets to get a free cupcake from Dia Doce! They were parked outside and a coworker and I were able to snag some cupcakes before we had to clock in.

I decided to try the Maple Bacon, which is described as “Maple cake studded with bacon, topped with a real maple syrup and bacon frosting.” I know it sounds strange and kinda gross, but I’m already a lover of  bacon in maple syrup, and this cupcake just seemed to speak directly to my maple obsession.

Look at that frosting. Simply amazing. Yes, I ate all of the cake first and saved the frosting for last. It’s better that way. I’ve been so spoiled lately by cupcakes and this one was no exception. Dense and moist cake, topped with rich, melt-in-your-mouth maple based frosting. The bacon flavor was overshadowed by the sweetness of the maple, but I did find some small, chewy pieces of bacon littered throughout the cake. If you ever get the chance to stop by Dia Doce and are not adverse to bacon, BUY THIS CUPCAKE. Your taste buds will be rewarded.

For dinner the past two days, I’ve been incorporating fresh tomatoes as much as possible because they finally have flavor now that summer is on the way. I heated up a frozen goat cheese and veggie pizza Monday night for dinner and prepared a side salad of arugula, tomato, and more Parmigiano-Reggiano. I topped my slice of pizza with more fresh tomato and cheese and dove in. Topping a frozen pizza with fresh toppings really makes a difference.

In addition to an unpictured orange, I also enjoyed this lovely Brown Cow Maple Cream Top yogurt for dessert. This yogurt is one of my favorites because of both flavor and creaminess. If you’re a maple fanatic like me, I highly suggest you try it out!

I hope you have a lovely Wednesday.

3 Comments

Filed under breakfast, nut butter, salad, whole foods, wiaw, yum

3 responses to “Maple Obsession.

  1. justin’s maple almond butter is THE best! i love all the maple you ate 🙂 i really like adding maple syrup to oatmeal

Leave a Reply

