Tricolor.

I initially planned to make this dinner on Saturday, but when I got home from work and saw the turkey hoagie that my parents bought just sitting there, I gave in to easy temptation and sunk my teeth in. It didn’t help that my dad was there urging me on, saying, “Just take it.” And I did, I packed it right up to bring to Jay’s house along with some oven roasted tomatoes and sweet peppers. And with those additions, it was really good! But I think tonight’s dinner was an even greater match.

Buffalo shrimp with roasted asparagus and maple cinnamon sweet potato fries. I started off by slicing the sweet potatoes into matchsticks, which I then coated in a mixture of melted butter, maple syrup, and a few dashes of both cinnamon and nutmeg. I threw them in the oven at 425* and let them cook for 20 minutes.

As the sweet potatoes cooked, I prepped the asparagus by chopping off the ends and coating the stalks in olive oil, chopped garlic, salt and pepper. I also arranged the frozen buffalo shrimp (WFM Whole Catch brand) on a baking sheet. I threw both the asparagus and frozen shrimp into the oven after the initial 20 minutes was up.

I let everything cook for a additional 15 minutes and served it with a side of buffalo ranch dressing — those spicy shrimp really needed it! I could tell Jay enjoyed the dinner because he went back for more asparagus and even the little burnt pieces of sweet potato that got stuck to the pan! Though I must confess he has a taste for burnt things 🙂

Even though it was a mishmash of different items, this dinner as a whole was scrumptious. I kept alternating between bites of shrimp and asparagus to trade tastes! I love that it packed the punch of three different colors; the more colors, the better in my book.

I’ll be back tomorrow with some catch-up posts!

2 Comments

Filed under bubbaloo

2 responses to “Tricolor.

  1. Nice combination! I bought my last batch of large shrimp frozen from the counter at WFM, but have never looked at their prepared offerings; I’ll check next time.

  2. They’re pretty good if you’re in need of a quick, easy meal!

Leave a Reply

