Nordstrom Cafe & Other Adventures.

Today my sister and I ventured out to King of Prussia to grab lunch at the Nordstrom Cafe. We went to the Nordstrom Cafe a few months ago with our aunt and since it was so good that time, we decided to go again. They take your order as you walk in and you pay up front, so it’s kind of cafeteria style. Despite the casual set up, it’s definitely not cafeteria quality.

We both started off with the Roma Tomato Basil Soup. It came with a parmesan-crusted breadstick and warmed me up quite nicely. Although it was really good, House’s tomato soup still has my heart! Our entrees came out only moments later.

My sister went for the Strawberry and Goat Cheese Salad while I opted for the Grilled Vegetable Panini with Havarti and Balsamic. I was pleasantly surprised by how good this panini was. Usually, I find paninis too bready, but this one had a good filling-to-bread ratio. I loved the combination of both red and yellow peppers, plus the spinach was a nice touch.

I finished off my meal with some coffee and then we headed out to the mall.

We shopped around for a little bit and bought a few things each before heading towards home to pick up Kara from school. On our way home, we realized that we had some time to kill so we decided to stop by Burlap and Bean. Megan got an iced coffee and since I’d already had my fill, I decided on an iced ginger pear tea.

When we first got to Burlap and Bean I wasn’t sure if I even wanted anything, but I am so glad that I got this drink! It had such a lovely, spiced flavor. Usually plain black iced tea is too bitter for me, but this one is made with rooibos, so its a bit sweeter.

Of course, when I spotted the Dia Doce cupcakes in the pastry case, I had to get some. I bought two cupcakes, one for me, one for Kara. None for Megan cause she’s not a huge cupcake person; the last time I bought her a cupcake she took two bites and said, “It’s too rich.” Of course, that didn’t stop her from a photo shoot, brought on by the fact that the cupcakes would “look good” with her nails:

Attractive, yes?

I let Kara choose what cupcake she wanted, and she went for the chocolate chip cookie dough. That left me with the white velvet.

The cupcake itself was beautiful, but I couldn’t get over how salty it was! Of course, I ate the whole thing –it was $3!– but I probably wouldn’t get that flavor again.

Overall, I had a lovely day. The food was good, the company was good. And I got to sleep in. Win.

3 Comments

Filed under dining out, review

3 responses to “Nordstrom Cafe & Other Adventures.

  1. Oh my goodness, that is beautiful! It looks like a wedding cupcake.

  2. Pingback: More Soup. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

