Simple Summer Quinoa Salad.

On Monday I decided to put the nearly week-old vegetables in my hydrator to good use via a quinoa salad. This recipe is super simple and goes great on top of lettuce. I’m sure it would also be good inside a wrap with extra veggies, too.

You will need:
1 cup of quinoa, cooked
1/2 large cucumber
1/2 red bell pepper
1/4 red onion
1/4 cup oven roasted tomatoes
1 clove of garlic, minced
dressing of choice
salt and pepper, to taste

First, I rinsed and cooked the quinoa since I didn’t have any left over. I used 1/4 cup of quinoa and about 2/3 a cup of water, with a dash of salt. I brought the water and quinoa to a boil and let the mixture simmer for fifteen minutes. Then I removed it from the heat and let it stand for five minutes.

As the quinoa cooked, I prepared the vegetables. I chopped the cucumber into small cubes and chopped both the onion and red pepper into bite-sized pieces. I also chopped up the garlic and roasted tomatoes. I decided to sautee the onion and red pepper with garlic and a bit of olive oil to bring out the flavor. This is totally by choice and unnecessary if you want your salad to be made of all fresh vegetables. You could also use raw tomatoes, but since I picked up some oven roasted tomatoes at work the other day and absolutely loved them,  I threw them into the mix.

After the quinoa was done cooking, I threw it into a big bowl and added in all the vegetables, cooked and raw. I generously doused the mix with salt and pepper and drizzled it with some Tessame’s Lemon Garlic Vinaigrette. I chilled the salad in the refrigerator for a few hours before dinner, because I wanted to serve it cold. You could easily toss this salad with your favorite homemade or store bought dressing, whichever you prefer. This salad would also be great topped with some crumbled cheese, but alas, I had none!

I served my first portion atop a bed of endive. I recommend eating this salad with a spoon — the tiny quinoa grains can be a bit tricky!

What I love about this salad is that it’s up for endless variation, based on what you have in your house. I simply threw together what I had, and voila!

Leave a comment

Filed under recipe, salad

Leave a Reply

