Slow-Roasted Tomatoes.

Confession: I’ve been a little obsessed with tomatoes lately. I currently have fresh, sun-dried, and slow-roasted sitting in my fridge, waiting to be consumed. When I tried my first slow-roasted tomato last week, I knew that I had to recreate their depth of flavor at home. It was perfect timing, because Kelly had just bought two pints of cherry tomatoes. I figured she wouldn’t miss one.

You will need:
1 pint of cherry tomatoes
olive oil
a few cloves of garlic
salt and pepper, to taste

First, preheat your oven to 225 degrees. Make sure you have a good 2-3 hours of uninterrupted time on your hands. If you have to share a kitchen, do not do this around dinner time! I know from experience; after 1.5 hours of roasting, Kelly decided that she had to make dinner and vamp the oven up to 350. So I had to take out my precious tomatoes, cover them with paper towels, and wait until the kitchen was cleared.

Slice your tomatoes in half, lengthwise, and place them in a large bowl. Drizzle them with a bit of olive oil and a few dashes each of salt and pepper, mixing the tomatoes around to ensure an even coating of olive oil/spices. Arrange the tomatoes face side up on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper with a few cloves of garlic, and place in the oven.

Now all you have to do is wait. I roasted mine for about three hours, until the edges of the tomatoes were crinkly and they were mostly, but not fully, dried out.

You can either use these right away or store them in a jar with some olive oil once they’ve cooled. They’ll last for a few weeks that way. I’ve even heard that you can freeze them for use during the winter, but I haven’t tried that yet.

I ate a few right off the pan and then let them cool. I peeled the cloves of garlic and placed the tomatoes, peeled garlic, and a few drizzles of olive oil into a jar for later use.

I’ve been using these little gems ever since on salads and most notably on top of everything bagels with cream cheese:

They pack just the right amount of flavor and add a boost of delicious to almost anything you want to spice up.

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under breakfast, nutritious treats, recipe

3 responses to “Slow-Roasted Tomatoes.

  1. fairyhealthylife

    I love tomatoes with everything! Ill be trying it very soon. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Parmesan Roasted Broccoli with Sun-Dried Tomatoes. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

