Parmesan Roasted Broccoli with Sun-Dried Tomatoes.

Last week, in an effort to use up the both the broccoli and sun-dried tomatoes sitting in my fridge, I decided to roast. I’ve been roasting asparagus like crazy these past few weeks, but I got the idea of roasting broccoli from Katie. When she compared her roasted broccoli to the crispy deliciousness of french fries, I knew I had to try the technique myself.

You will need:

2 cups fresh broccoli
5-7 rehydrated sun-dried tomatoes (in olive oil)
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano
2-3 tbs. olive oil
1-2 cloves minced garlic or a few dashes of garlic powder
salt and pepper, to taste
1/4 fresh lemon

Directions:

1. First, preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

2. Chop the broccoli and sun-dried tomatoes into bite sized pieces and placed them in  a small glass baking dish.

2. Next, add the olive oil and ensure the baking dish, broccoli, and tomatoes are all evenly coated.

3. Add the minced garlic/garlic powder and season the broccoli with salt and pepper.

4. Bake at 425 for about 20-25 minutes. My broccoli was fully roasted after 20 minutes; you should be looking for slightly browned tips.

5. After your broccoli is roasted, remove the baking dish from the oven and pour the broccoli + sun-dried tomatoes into a bowl. Top with a squeeze of lemon and the grated Parmigiano. Serve and enjoy!

The recipe serves 2-3 as a side dish, but if you’re cooking for more people, you could easily double the recipe. I just used a small head of broccoli since I was only cooking for myself. You could also sub oven-roasted tomatoes for sun-dried if you prefer a wholly-roasted dish!

Leave a comment

Filed under recipe

Leave a Reply

