Yuki Smoothie.

There’s this restaurant near my house called “Yuki Sushi.” The first time I read that name, I couldn’t help thinking “Yucky Sushi.” And while I’m sure the owner’s intention wasn’t to correlate his food with all things yucky, I make that association to this day every time I pass by that restaurant.  I will probably never eat there.

Onto my yucky smoothie. I decided to fuel up today after a short pilates workout with a smoothie.  I picked up a single serving packet of Amazing Grass Raw Reserve Green Superfood at work the other day, so I threw it in the blender with my arsenal of choice:

Frozen fruit and sunbutter. I know several people at work who swear by Amazing Grass products, so I decided it was worth a shot. I blended the packet with about a cup of water, 1 tbs. sunbutter and a cup of frozen fruit until everything was thoroughly combined. I ended up with this:

Greenish-gray sludge. Despite it’s resemblance to Polyjuice Potion, I was determined to like it and I sucked down every bit of that baby. It did not taste good. At all. I could barely taste the fruit beneath the flavor of…well, grass. Amazing Grass products are supposed to be full of nutrients and extremely good for you, but I would never get this flavor again. I know they have some chocolate and vanilla flavored powders, but I’m not a big fan of powders in general, so I think I’ll be sticking to fresh greens from now on.

Have you ever tried anything by Amazing Grass?

3 Comments

Filed under review

3 responses to “Yuki Smoothie.

  1. Never tried amazing grass nor do I want too. I imagine it will taste like…well grass.

  2. Tt in nyc

    Dont give up!!! Amazing grass IS amazing! there are only two “good” flavors tho- the “cremecicle” greens powder, i mix into smoothies or sometimes just a bit of juice and the vanilla amazing meal (w protein) is also great. But yeah, just the greens is not yummy!

Leave a Reply

