WIAW – Paleo Edition.

Recently I’ve been reading a lot about the Paleo Diet, which essentially promotes cutting out grains, all processed sugars, and dairy. I first heard about the paleo/primal lifestyle through the blogosphere and initially thought of it as a restrictive hoax. But the more I research, the more it makes sense to me. I’ll explain my reason why later.

To supplement the research I do online, I bought The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson and am seriously considering this “diet” of sorts as a lifestyle change. Now, I’m not jumping right into anything; I’d like to do more research first and consider how changing my diet will affect my life. But just to see what a day of paleo life would look like, I stuck to 90% paleo eats yesterday. No grains, no added sugars, but I did eat some dairy.

For breakfast, I scrambled two eggs with onion and tomato. On the side I had some coffee and blueberries! I now know that I don’t like tomato in my eggs; too mushy. Otherwise, I didn’t feel very full after this meal.

For lunch I threw together a salad composed of greens, assorted olive bar items, and 1.5 salmon cakes. I simply added some chopped onion, red bell pepper, an egg and spices to a can of wild caught salmon and fried the mixture in a pan. The whole mixture made three salmon cakes, so I have some leftovers.  The cakes were surprisingly tasty and I enjoyed them much more than salmon salad. I finished off the meal with some unpictured raw cashews.

I was pretty hungry by the time dinner rolled around so I helped Kelly out by marinading chicken in orange juice, lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper. I also topped some fresh asparagus with Tessemae’s Lemon Garlic dressing, sliced mushrooms, salt, pepper and Parmesan cheese and roasted it in the oven.  We also had a salad on the side. I was absolutely stuffed after this meal but felt good enough to eat again only two hours later.

For dessert, I whipped up a recipe from Mark’s Daily Apple: Sweet & Tart Rhubarb and Berry Dessert Sauce. I had only blueberries on hand and no vanilla, but it turned out delicious, regardless. I used full fat Greek yogurt in place of whipped cream and tried to make my dessert pretty like the picture, but it just wasn’t happening. For some reason, I could barely finish this but I knew I needed the calories so I eventually ate the whole thing.

Overall, I think I need to really give myself more time to get used to the idea of not eating grains. I still have some oats and granola that I want to use up, and I also have some sunbutter that has added sugar in it. I don’t want that all to go to waste. Just from yesterday, I realized that SO MANY things contain added sugar. Things like dijon mustard and even salsa. My hunger/fullness cues were definitely affected by the lack of grains. I would feel pretty full and satisfied after eating and then an hour later I’d be ready to eat again. I definitely think I need to add more calories from fat and even carbs (fruits/vegetables) to my daily diet if I plan to eat paleo. In the meantime, I’ll be finishing off some steel cut oats and the last of my Michelle’s Granola!

Have a great Wednesday!

4 Comments

Filed under paleo, wiaw

4 responses to “WIAW – Paleo Edition.

  1. Hmm, well props to you for taking the challenge! You’re right about sugar being added to everything- you literally just cannot get away from it.
    Everything looks really good, even if there are no delicious carbohydrates.

  2. fairyhealthylife

    I’m trying to stay away from the oats and granola too. It’s tough. Your salmon cakes look delicious!

Leave a Reply

