Xilantro.

After work on Saturday, Jay and I went out to dinner at Xilantro in Wayne. We’d stopped by a few months ago to check the place out and finally had time to try it out!

Jay arrived at the restaurant about 15 minutes earlier than I did (wardrobe malfunction) and ordered a margarita. He was only a quarter the way finished when I arrived — he said it was super strong, made of just lime and tequila.

We skipped the appetizers and ordered our entrees straight away. Jay got the chicken fajitas which came with a side of tri-colored rice and mashed black beans.

He loved the addition of onions on top and ate the whole plate, minus the black beans.

I ordered the Camarones Borrachos, which consisted of “large jumbo shrimp butterflied and stuffed with lump crabmeat, wrapped in bacon, sauteed in our special creamy reposado-chipotle sauce.” I was freaking out a bit about which entree was the most “paleo,” but in the end just decided to go with the entree that sounded best to me. It wasn’t worth it to me to sacrifice the enjoyment of the meal due to a self-imposed dietary restriction.

I even ate the rice despite paleo guidelines and enjoyed every carb-laden bite. While the shrimp were wonderfully cooked, they were a bit sweet for my taste. I ate them all regardless! My favorite part was the reposado-chipotle sauce, which I scraped up as best I could with my fork!

I don’t think I’ve ever cleared my plate at a restaurant before, but this meal was definitely plate-scrape worthy. Jay and I were both pleasantly full and completely satisfied after the meal. Despite being on the pricey side, Xilantro is definitely worth a visit. I would definitely go back.

2 Comments

Filed under bubbaloo, dining out, yum

2 responses to “Xilantro.

  1. You can be really proud of yourself,girl – I know how scary restaurant food can be sometimes,but it’s important not to forget that it’s actually only FOOD,and our body needs food to function,right? So no matter what you eat,it cannot be ENTIRELY bad for you. 🙂

    • Thank you! You’re absolutely right, there is nutritional value in just about everything. And I was starving so I damn well deserved that meal haha. Thanks for the feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

