Tea and Carrots.

Happy Wednesday! I’ve been up since 8 am because I drove my little sister to school and decided not to go back to sleep. Sometimes its nice to wake up early.

Lately, I’ve been drinking a glass of warm lemon or lime water in the morning. I’ve heard that this improves digestion, so I’m all for it! I also really like drinking with straws, so it gives me that excuse too.

For breakfast the other day I heated up a few strips of nitrate-free bacon and topped it with a fried egg, half an avocado, and some tomato slices. This breakfast was delicious! Avocado + salt seems to bring everything up a notch.

For lunch yesterday I mixed a can of yellowfin tuna with olive oil, salt, pepper, cucumber and sundried tomatoes and placed it over a salad. It was slightly salty due to the tomatoes.

For dinner I made some baby-carrot fries. I simply tossed them with a bit of coconut oil, honey, salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper and cinnamon and placed them in the oven at 425* for about 3o minutes. It’s imperative to make sure that as the carrots cook that there is enough oil to keep them from burning! I unfortunately had to throw out a few that were burnt to a crisp. Crispy is ideal for fries, but burnt crispy is not. I also heated up a turkey burger and topped it with some avocado, salt, and hot sauce! It’s a pretty good stand in for ketchup, especially if you like things spicy.

To wind down the day, I sipped on some White Vanilla Apricot Tazo Tea. It’s been sitting in my pantry for months so I should really start drinking it! Maybe I can make iced tea?

My bedtime snack consisted of equal parts blueberries and strawberries. So good at this time of year!

Monday started my “official” first week of going paleo/primal. So far, I haven’t had any crazy cravings for starches or sugar. I do miss chocolate sometimes, but I’d like to have a month of eating pretty clean before I start to add in indulgences. A lot of people in the paleo community call the occasional chocolate or dairy “cheats” but I really hate that word, so indulgence it is. I’ll be updating about my paleo experiment in more detail sometime soon.

Until then, enjoy your Wednesday!

20 Comments

Filed under breakfast, lunch, paleo, salad, wiaw

20 responses to “Tea and Carrots.

  1. Your breakfast looks so yummy!! And the baby carrot “fries” idea is genius. How have I not heard about this before?! Happy WIAW!

  2. I really like iced tea. When it’s hot,I simply brew up a large pot of tea & let it cool down. It’s so refreshing with some ice cubes or simply directly out of the fridge,plus my stomach likes it better than fizzy soda drinks! 😉

  3. That breakfast looks yummy! Avocado makes everything better. 🙂

  4. Alyssa (pb and oatmeal)

    I love eggs, avocado, and tomato for breakfast 🙂

  5. Those carrot fries look great 🙂 I’ll have to try to make them sometime…
    Happy WIAW!

    Julia
    http://polkadot-peony.blogspot.com/

  6. The world would be a darker place without avocados ;-)… right?! I adore them too!!

  7. I agree about the avocado statement…it makes almost anything better!

  8. Congrats on joining the Paleo/primal community! Excited to find another WIAW blogger doing it. Lots of vegans…I thought at first those were sweet potato fries. I’ve never heard of carrot fries but now I really want to try it. Also even though i try to stick as close to paleo as I can, I do indulge in extra dark chocolate. At first I hated it. But now when I have a bit of regular chocolate, I find it repulsive (too sweet). Thankfully according to Marks Daily Apple, dark chocolate is acceptable.

    • Thanks! It is hard to find bloggers who actually work with/enjoy meat! I would definitely try carrot fries because they’re delicious and pretty cheap.

      And I know what you mean about things being too sweet…the other day I was in a mood for cereal and was just like, “Why the hell not?” I took two bites and was pretty grossed out about how shockingly sweet it was! Plus, it made me feel kinda crappy. Weird how that works.

  9. Pingback: Primal Diet: Week One. | Almond Oats.

  10. Pingback: Happy Fourth! | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

