Bone Broth and Lemon Chicken Soup.

I’ve been sitting around in pajamas for the past two days, basking in the non-glory of a super sore throat and stuffy nose. We’re getting pretty close to summer, no? How does this happen? Either way, I was struck last night by a remedial craving for chicken soup. Ideally, I would’ve downed several bowls of Coco Thai Bistro’s Lemongrass Soup right then and there, but it was 11:30 at night and Coco Thai was much too far away, and very much closed. So I settled on making my own soup.

On Saturday night Jay came to Whole Foods to visit me after work, and we got a rotisserie chicken with some veggies for dinner. We barely skimmed the surface of that chicken and I had a bunch of leftovers, including a fully roasted chicken carcass (gross, I know). I’ve been reading a lot lately about the benefits of bone broth and figured that using the bones and remaining meat to make chicken stock + soup would be a great comfort and cold remedy.

If you’ve been following my blog, you probably know that I almost never work with meat. Never, that is, until now. Starting a primal diet has definitely opened me up to consuming more meat, but I still haven’t dealt much with cooking it. Picking apart the bones and meat was a definite challenge for me last night. I yelped a few times when I saw the inside of the carcass, but eventually got over it. I set aside the cooked chicken meat and placed the chicken bones and the remaining roasted skin into the crock pot with half an onion, two cloves of garlic, a few baby carrots, and enough water to cover the contents of the bowl. I set my crock pot on auto and went to sleep. Seriously.

When I woke up this morning, Kelly had already turned the crock pot off for me. Based on the time she left (and therefore turned off the crock pot) the broth probably cooked for 7 hours total. It smelled really wonderful and the herbs from the skin had floated off into the broth, indirectly giving it some spice! I drained the contents of the bowl and picked off any remaining meat from the bones. Then I turned to making some soup!

I followed this recipe as closely as possible, using what I had on hand. Instead of scallions, I used shallots. In place of turnips, I used button mushrooms. I also forwent the rice in favor of making the dish primal and therefore subtracted 1 cup of water from the recipe, as with less solid ingredients, I would need less water. I also added a few dashes of cayenne pepper to clear up my sinuses!

I didn’t keep track of time when making the soup, but it didn’t seem to take very long. I was simultaneously making a crustless quiche, so my head was in a few different places all at once. When it was done cooking, I put about half of the soup in a container to store in the freezer and placed the other half in a fridge container for the rest of the week. And of course, I saved some for immediate consumption.

The soup didn’t pack quite the flavor-punch that I expected. It was quite lemony, which overshadowed any strong chicken flavor. Next time, I would probably caramelize the shallots a bit more and reduced the cups of water to one instead of two. I’d probably also reduce the amount of lemon juice used!

Although this soup wasn’t quite what I had in mind, the texture/flavor did slightly resemble lemongrass soup! The cayenne was a great addition and my bowl of soup definitely warmed me up. I would love to try this again with some substitutions!

Do you eat chicken soup when you’re sick?

4 Comments

Filed under paleo, recipe

4 responses to “Bone Broth and Lemon Chicken Soup.

  1. It’s great to see when people say here’s what I’d do next time.
    I have a couple recipes like that: “don’t make this [as is].” 🙂

  2. Pingback: Paleo Diet: Week Two. | Almond Oats.

  3. Pingback: Farm Fresh Food. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

