Burger Salad Love.

This week I’ve been all about cooking several servings food at once so that I have leftovers to munch on throughout the week. While I would’t say I’m completely aligned yet with batch cooking, I’ve noticed that cooking a few meals at once has saved me lots of prep time and dishwashing this week.

For breakfast, I’ve been enjoying a crustless spinach, mushroom and shallot quiche. To make it, I simply followed my recipe for veggie quiche but omitted the crust. I also used heavy cream instead of the milk and half and half combo and used raw sharp cheddar instead of Manchego.

The great thing about not having crust is that you can eat more of the eggy part! I’ve consumed 1/4 of this quiche every morning since Monday and will be sad when the final quarter is consumed tomorrow morning.

Another note about crust: the quiche filling essentially formed a crust of it’s own, as you can see by the browned edges. The crust of each piece is a bit chewier –and cheesier– than the rest of the quiche! It’s my favorite part.

For lunch I’ve been downing more lemon chicken soup. Yesterday I paired my soup with a mixture of chopped avocado, heirloom tomato, pickles, balsamic, evoo, salt and pepper. So good! Clearly it was rainy when I took this picture.

I finally faced my fear of raw meat last night and made buffalo burgers! I minced together two cloves of garlic and six sun-dried tomatoes and added them to a package of Nature’s Rancher Ground Buffalo. I also spiced the burgers with salt, pepper, garlic powder, an egg, and red pepper flakes.

I served my burger atop a salad of mixed greens, kale chips, diced avocado, heirloom tomato and sauteed mushrooms! This dinner was absolutely delicious and I’m pretty proud of myself for working with raw meat. I guess there’s a first time for everything.

Lately, I’ve been snacking in the afternoon and evening on either raw cashews, fresh rainier cherries, dried apricots, or bananas sliced with almond butter. I did indulge today in some 70% Lake Champlain Dark Chocolate Squares, which were free in the break room at work! I simply couldn’t resist.

How’s your Wednesday going?

3 Comments

Filed under breakfast, lunch, nut butter, nutritious treats, paleo, primal, salad, wiaw

3 responses to “Burger Salad Love.

  1. Alyssa (pb and oatmeal)

    Quiche looks great 🙂

  2. Pingback: Paleo Diet: Week Two. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

