Farmer’s Market Finds.

Today as Jay, Kara and I perused Media for a father’s day gift, Jay handed me a flyer for the Media Farmer’s Market. It noted that the Farmer’s Market takes place every Thursday from 3-7 p.m., which meant that it was less than two hours away! I immediately knew that I’d have to go and check it out with my reusable bag in tow. So that’s what I did.

All of my finds!

There were lots of local farm stands, as well as a stand for Burlap and Bean Coffee (one of my favorites!) and the local Great Harvest. I bought produce from the first stand I walked to; zucchini 3 for $2, a $4 carton cherries and a pint of black raspberries for $3.50!

Huge zucchini!

Beautiful black raspberries! I’ve only ever had these as an ice cream flavor so I’m excited to try them out.

About half my sweet cherries sitting atop some mushrooms. I was so disappointed when I spotted the sour cherries after I’d already purchased the sweet ones! I totally would have gone for sour!

I also stopped by another stand, where I picked up a beautiful bunch of beets, greens and all. I was tempted by the kohlrabi but it’s a vegetable still so foreign to me that I just didn’t want to go there. Funny story: last week at work a German man in my line wanted to buy some kohlrabi. I’d never seen it before and he didn’t know how to pronounce the name in English. “It starts with a k…” he offered. I asked a coworker, who also had no idea what it was. I ended up giving it away for free, after which his foreign wife said, “We get stuff for free if cashier is stupid.” And the woman standing behind them offered, “If they don’t know what it is, it should be free.” I had no choice but to give it away and was so completely disgusted by those people. I may be a cashier, but that doesn’t mean I’m not a person. People can be truly awful sometimes.

Anyway, after I picked up the beets, I ventured over to a Birchrun Hills Farm stand and noticed their sign for pastured beef. I was all ears. They had burgers and chip steak, but I settled on a $5 pound of frozen ground beef. I’m so excited to be supporting such a local, viable farm! I actually used to volunteer at an art gallery in Chester Springs, which is where Birchrun is located, so it’s quite close to home in more sense than one.

Lastly, I decided to stop by the mushroom stand from Chadds Ford, PA. Some of the varieties were expensive, so I settled on a large container of creminis for $3.75. I left the farmer’s market with a full bag and a happy heart. I’ve been wanting to shop at a farmer’s market for ages and I finally got the chance! I’m also very pleased with my purchases, which I got for just above $20! I’ve already planned for Saturday the 23rd to stop at the Bryn Mawr Farmer’s Market. Raw cheese, here I come!

1 Comment

Filed under grocery shopping

One response to “Farmer’s Market Finds.

  1. Pingback: Beet Stem Stirfry. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

