Summertime Meals.

Happy Wednesday! I worked most of today and am just sitting down now to blog. My car doesn’t have air conditioning so the drive home was horrendous, and I walked out of my car with my jeans literally sticking to my legs. We get your point, summer. We know you’re here.

For breakfast yesterday I made my first ever coconut flour blueberry pancakes. These are four of the six that survived, out of a batch that should’ve made sixteen. I promise to be more patient next time.

This is a bowl from last week — a lunch of curried apricot chicken salad topped with half an avocado and some tomato. Ugly, but delicious!

Today after work, I immediately sat down to a bowl of plain Erivan Yogurt and topped it with a crumbled coconut flour zucchini walnut muffin and some blueberries. The tang of plain, non-greek yogurt is starting to grow on me. Of course, the muffin helped add some sweetness.

For dinner last night, I grabbed a chicken leg and wing from my first ever self-roasted whole chicken and paired it with the last of my beet stems, which I sauteed in butter with mushrooms and zucchini. It was a pretty good dinner, if I do say so myself.

Lately I’ve been snacking on just about everything, from avocado salad to kimchi to cherries. And of course, whenever I’m at work I stop by the cheese sampling station and grab a block or two of quality cheese. Robusto is my favorite!

I hope you’re keeping cool on this extremely hot, first day of summer!

13 Comments

Filed under breakfast, lunch, primal, wiaw

13 responses to “Summertime Meals.

  1. Summer time food for sure, all looks so good!

  2. Muffin in your yogurt? That must have has a bit of a different texture!

    • Try a corn muffin + plain yogurt + apple + almond butter. To die for. I’m not eating corn right now but if I was, it would be a corn muffin in yogurt! Gotta find a granola replacement somewhere…

  3. Those pancakes just made me hungry again..

  4. Your pancakes look yummy! Another easy pancake recipe is mashed ripe banana, 2 beaten eggs and cinnamon (blueberries are good mixed in too!). Combine all ingredients together and cook in a frying pan or on a griddle with coconut oil, ghee or butter. I drizzle honey on top and sometimes spread almond or coconut butter on top too.

  5. I love crumbling muffins into yogurt – it’s one of my favorite ways to eat them šŸ˜‰

  6. Your pancakes look delicious,and yeah,cheese is awesome. I always eat it on its own,it’s just so good! šŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Paleo Diet: Weeks Four/Five. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

