Very Berry Primal Ice Cream.

A few weeks ago, I picked up a pint of the most tart, unpalatable black raspberries known to man. They were extremely bitter and full of seeds, but I didn’t want them to go to waste. So I did what immediately came to mind; I made a makeshift primal black raspberry ice cream. Of course, if you have an ice cream maker you could certainly make a true, authentic ice cream, but in a pinch berries and cream are really all you need. And also, I don’t have an ice cream maker.

Ingredients:
1/4 cup grass fed heavy whipping cream
1/3 cup full fat greek yogurt (I used Fage)
1 cup berries of choice (I used 1/2 black raspberries, 1/2 strawberries)

If you want, you could add honey or maple syrup as a sweetener, but the sweetness of the strawberries was good enough for me. Also, depending on your preference, you could use more greek yogurt and less heavy cream, etc. Do what works for you and your taste buds.

First, I added everything to my blender in no specific order.

Then I blended everything together!

And out poured this shockingly-pink, creamy delicious mixture.

You could totally consume this right out of the bowl or in a glass as a smoothie, but for a more ice cream consistency I placed my mixture in the freezer for about thirty minutes.

And voila, I had a semi-frozen ice cream like treat. I garnished the ice cream with some honey roasted almonds. To be honest, I think I liked the non-frozen mixture better, but if you’re really in the mood for something icy, this will do! Serves 2-3, depending on your serving sizes.

3 Comments

Filed under nutritious treats, primal, recipe

3 responses to “Very Berry Primal Ice Cream.

  1. oh man making this. like soon.

  2. Pingback: Paleo Diet: Weeks Four/Five. | Almond Oats.

Leave a Reply

