Review: Organic Nectars Raw Cacao Bar.

Today as I perused my local health food store, I picked up a bar of Organic Nectars Raw Cacao 70% chocolate. It piqued my interest because it proclaimed itself as soy free and dairy free, made with 100% entirely organic incredients. The bar consists solely of organic raw cacao, organic coconut sugar, organic Madagascar vanilla and organic sunflower lecithin. Soy free/dairy free chocolate? I’ll take it!

The price was a little steep at $5.79 for a 1.4 oz bar of chocolate. However, when I carefully tore open the packaging and took my first bite, I decided that the price was worth it. The flavor is spot on and not overly bitter, as some other 70% cacao bars are. I was actually surprised by how mild the flavor was; usually after a bite of dark chocolate, I feel like I need to rinse my mouth out. Not the case with this bar. The aftertaste is not overpowering in the least.

The bar is divided into four rectangular segments which makes it easy to break off (as compared to the painfully small blocks of Green & Black). This also makes it easy to save a few blocks for later…or not, if I’m being completely honest. It’s that good. I also appreciate the quality of ingredients with which the bar is made; raw cacao for it’s antioxidant value and coconut sugar for it’s low glycemic index. The absence of soy and dairy is simply another plus. This is a bar that I can feel good about eating and the price is steep enough to keep me from buying buckets at a time.

I chopped up some of my bar tonight and sprinkled it over some homemade banana almond butter soft serve.

Delicious.

*I was not paid to endorse this product; I bought it with my own money and simply loved it at first bite. 

3 Comments

Filed under nutritious treats

3 responses to “Review: Organic Nectars Raw Cacao Bar.

  1. Oooh,this sounds most wonderful! I’ve never tried anything sweetened with cconut sugar yet,it’s totally unknown here in Germany,but I’d be excited to do it once I come to the US someday. This bar sounds perfect! 🙂

Leave a Reply

