Two Years.

It’s been a crazy week. Wednesday was my twenty-first birthday, from which I spent most of Thursday recovering. Friday and Saturday were devoted to preparing for me and Jay’s two year anniversary. Two years. I can’t believe it’s been that long, or that it’s gone so fast. I honestly could not imagine my life without him and I am so lucky to have him in my life. Who else would put up with my relentless food photography? Or try every single weird thing that I make? I don’t think anyone else could make me feel the way he does; secure, happy, beautiful, loved.

And that’s why I put together an anniversary dinner for us, consisting of coconut shrimp, beef kabobs, and key lime pie. All paleo-friendly and delicious, except the pie which was super tart!

Jay was wonderful as usual and helped me by grilling the kabobs as I prepped the coconut shrimp.

He even helped me peel and devein the shrimp before he started grilling! Once the shrimp were cleaned I dipped them in an egg and then dipped them in a mixture of coconut shreds, salt, cayenne pepper and garlic power. Into the coconut oil they went! I served them with a peach dipping sauce, which consisted of a fresh peach, lime juice, a serrano pepper and some red onion.

I marinated some sirloin overnight following this recipe. Jay helped me skewer the meat with some bell pepper, onion and fresh peach! I wanted to use local, seasonal ingredients so I used peaches, basil, onion and bell pepper that I picked up at the Media Farmer’s Market on Thursday.

Jay grilled the kabobs to done perfection. They were delicious. We had enough food for lunch leftovers the next day.

My favorite part was the peaches — they were so sweet and juicy.

A few hours after dinner I whipped out the pie, but by then it was dark out and the pie pictures did not deliver. Although the pie crust was wonderful (made of almonds, dates, and coconut oil) the filling wasn’t sweet at all, which is what Jay and I both expected. He and I both ate a piece, though, despite the constant pucker.

I couldn’t have asked for a better night, or a better Bubs. He bought me a beautiful necklace to replace one that broke. It’s my favorite. He also got us tickets for a concert this upcoming Saturday and I can’t wait! I have off of work the whole weekend so it’ll be a great time.

Here’s to our third year together, that it may be filled with even more love and joy. I love you, Jay, so much.

6 Comments

Filed under bubbaloo, love, paleo, primal

6 responses to “Two Years.

  1. Congrats on two years and a 21st birthday! That is really amazing and such a milestone. I love shrimp and those look mighty tasty.

  2. I looove kabobs! One of my favorite meals

  3. Happy birthday/anniversary! {belated, obviously}
    I love grilled fruit. It’s all juicy and savory at the same time

Leave a Reply

