Hot Hot Heat.

Now that last week’s craziness is over, I’m finally settling back into blogging and cooking like crazy. I have so many customers at work tell me that they refuse to cook anything because it’s so hot out. I know that it’s hot out. I’m standing next to an open door in long pants and socks. That’s why I cook at night! Inside! Really, it’s not that bad.

On the menu this week I’ve been eating eggs pretty regularly for breakfast. Case in point:

Two pasture raised eggs scrambled with some onion and green bell pepper. On the side, some fresh cherries and blueberries.

Lunch on Monday was a breeze, as we had some leftover salmon from Sunday night’s dinner. I had the last square inch or so atop a bed of red leaf with some leftover green beans, grilled artichokes, and cucumber.

For my birthday, Jay got me a beautiful Omega masticating juicer that pulverizes just about anything you put in it (except for bananas. Believe me. We tried.) Aside from providing raw nutrition, I’ve heard that green juice can help clear skin. Therefore, I’m all for it. So on Monday I cut up the above: beet greens + stems, a stalk of celery, 1/2 cucumber, 1/4 lemon, and 1 granny smith apple and juiced it all, piece by piece.

Served in a reusable Starbucks cup, another birthday gift. The result was this dark, greenish red juice that tasted just a little too beet-y for my liking. I chugged it all anyway and think that it definitely helped…pass things along.  Not enough juice to have an lasting effect on my skin yet, though.

For dinner I’ve been eating a lot of homemade eggplant parm. As seen here, I tried one recipe using a coconut flour “breading,” and served it with a blend of sauteed green beans, onion, and bell pepper. I ended up simply frying my second batch with olive oil, garlic and basil. Much easier and tastier, in my opinion.

All in all, it’s been a week of good eats. I’m guessing that next week will look a bit different, but I’ll be posting the reasons why in a little bit. Enjoy the rest of your Wednesday!

9 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, juice, lunch, wiaw

9 responses to “Hot Hot Heat.

  1. holy shiz that looks so good! I am impressed to say the least.

  2. Yum, I love green juice! I always do one fruit (usually apple) and then a bunch of green veggies. I love green apple with parsley, kale, chard, celery (leaves and all), cucumber and either a lemon or lime.

  3. Min

    Those are some sexy lookin’ scrambled eggs! Perfectly cooked! I just got a vitamix, and it’s the best purchase I’ve ever made! Life changing! Love your juice!

  4. Haha I love the re-usable starbucks cup!
    If green juice does make your skin clearer, I’d REALLY like to know that. Instead of spending $100s of dollars on skin care I can treat it with nutrition 🙂

Leave a Reply

