Terrain at Styers.

Last week my mom took me out to lunch at a lovely restaurant called Styer’s Garden Cafe. It’s actually located inside the store Terrain, which is also a nursery. Yes, it’s a bit confusing. It’s basically like an upscale home goods store, nursery and restaurant all tied into one beautiful location. I was in awe, to say the least.

Terrain is housed under the same corporation that includes Urban Outfitters, Anthropoligie, etc., and I definitely got an Anthro-esque vibe from a lot of the pieces inside the store. I was overwhelmed by all the cute jars, canvas bags, quirky utensils and bath salts. When I spotted a jar of almond peanut butter my eyes lit up, but I knew I could make something much cheaper and more delicious at home.

We sat down inside a green house that was brimming with rustic wooden tables and flowers. I fell immediately in love with the “distressed wooden cabinet” that you can see there in the corner of the restaurant. I came home to find out that it only costs upwards of twice the amount in my savings account. Someday…

Fresh flowers adorned every table top. We were literally surrounded by green life and my mom asked our waitress several times about the different flowers that surrounded us on each side and above.

I was ecstatic to find that they served water in Ball Mason Jars! Such a simple but fitting touch.

Our meal started off with bread baked in a flower pot. Such a unique concept. It was served with wildflower honey and sea salt infused butter. Not paleo by a long stretch, but I made an exception because the bread was freshly baked and I needed some sort of vehicle on which to try that divine butter! The bread was delicious, fluffy and light. I would be lying, though, if I said that my ratio of bread to butter was equal. Sweet, salty butter for the win!

My mom and I decided to split the beet salad as an appetizer. It was nice and light but it didn’t blow me away. I actually think that some of the components were missing. Do you see black olives, fennel, and orange? Because I don’t. I didn’t taste them either. I let my mom enjoy most of it.

Our entrees came out not long after the beet salad. My mom got the gnocchi with summer vegetables and loved every bite.

I chose the beet cured salmon salad on the recommendation of my mother, which came with a poached egg and capers. I really wanted to like this salad. The presentation was beautiful and I’m sure the quality of the food was wonderful. I didn’t realize when I ordered the salmon that it would be cold and slimy. I took a bite but couldn’t really choke more than that down, so unfortunately I had to send it back. Perhaps my tastes are simply unrefined, but I do enjoy raw fish in sushi. This dish just didn’t have much flavor, aside from the fishy taste.

We waited a while for my second entree to come out, but the wait was well worth it. I got the Grilled Filet Mignon which came with a “field greens salad, shaved asparagus, radish, red onion, smokey blue cheese, almonds, [and] balsamic vinaigrette.” It was simply delicious. I don’t think I’ve ever had steak that good in my life. It was juicy and incredibly flavorful; not overcooked in the least. I finished the entire salad and about two thirds of the steak. The rest I saved for dinner.

The service was polite but also impersonal. The clientele is rather hoity-toity and our waitress’s attitude reflected that. I wouldn’t say that the service was bad by any means, but I did feel a little uncomfortable.

After lunch my mom and I walked around the nursery a bit. I was enamored with the swing top canisters and ended up buying one, plus two little jars to match.

I’m not sure yet what I should fill my canister with but the little baby jar is already full of some homemade maple almond butter!

My mom suggested filling jars like these with soup and giving them as Christmas gifts. Sounds like a plan to me!

Overall, I was absolutely delighted by Terrain. The food was of excellent quality and the atmosphere was so calm and relaxing. The greenhouse is a treat to dine in. Terrain, the store itself, is filled with so many goodies. I can’t wait to go back and just peruse some more. The menu is also seasonal so it will be interesting to see what they’re serving in the fall. I also have a special friend that I need to buy a gift for and Terrain seems like the perfect place to get her something! More on that later, though.

Have a great night!

6 Comments

Filed under dining out, review

6 responses to “Terrain at Styers.

  1. wow that place looks amazing, not only the food but just the atmosphere.

  2. Wow,what a unique place! The atmosphere as well as the food seems amazing to me,so beautiful and calm… That would be the perfect place for me to eat,for sure,since I often feel under pressure in loud and noisy,crowded restaurants. Plus,I love flowers. All kinds.really. ❤

  3. I think I would’ve just eaten all that butter with a spoon! Yum — will have to try making my own. It sounds super easy. Nice choice on the jars, by the way.

  4. Liz

    love that place!! and yes, that butter is to die for! try the lemon ricotta cheesecake, next time they have it on the menu!

Leave a Reply

