Beach Eats.

Although I failed to blog at the beach, I took lots and lots of pictures. Of course, most of them were of food.

My favorite breakfast down the beach was probably the above; a plate of eggs sandwiched between a small sliced tomato and some leftover, warmed blue cheese balsamic potato salad. So good! I really enjoyed the potato salad, which I made by loosely following a Bobby Flay recipe from Southern Living. My grandmom always has tons of magazines and I took one to the pool with me every day to scour for recipes.

A typical post-breakfast scene.

I tried to pack a good serving of vegetables every day at the beach by having massive salads for lunch. This one was my favorite, by far.

A bed of romaine and fresh tomato topped with leftover sauteed green beans and coconut roasted carrots, plus a hard-boiled egg. I made my favorite coconut oil spiced carrots for my grandparents one night and while my grandmom was initially skeptical due to the red pepper flakes (she hates spicy!), she and my grandpop both enjoyed them. I was happy to see my grandpop get some coconut oil in too, as I’ve heard that it can help immensely with Alzheimer’s, which he suffers from.

Of course, Jay was the first to find some fun in my food and I christened this salad Herbert the Happy Salad. How could you not want to eat that face?

On our last night down the shore, Jay and I went to Buffalo Wild Wings for dinner. I’d never been before but Jay had and he raved about it. I went for the Thai Curry wings and Jay ordered the spiciest dry rub that they offered.

These were definitely uniquely flavored and quite spicy! I didn’t really taste the spice at first but after my third or fourth wing I was chomping on celery like crazy to cool my mouth. Jay’s dry rubbed wings were really good too. Needless to say, we will be back.

Although I rarely drink, I decided to finally pop open the bottle of beer that my coworkers bought me for my 21st birthday. There’s a pub inside of the Whole Foods that I work at and a few of my coworkers are trained to work in there; thus, they have access to lots of specialty beers! I had no idea that they would actually buy me a beer and it was such a sweet gesture! Plus, I love owls. The decals were perfect.

I don’t have much of a taste for beer yet but I did enjoy the brew. I felt pretty buzzed halfway through and had to put it aside for later because I was making dinner! To my credit, though, it did have an alcohol content of 11.2!

Have a great Wednesday!

12 Comments

Filed under breakfast, bubbaloo, dining out, dinner, lunch, salad, whole foods, wiaw

12 responses to “Beach Eats.

  1. The green bean and carrot salad looks delicious! I’ll have to try it πŸ™‚

  2. Those sauteed carrots look super good! Smiley.

  3. Wow, that’s a potent beer!! It’s no wonder you were feeling it halfway through! I would totally eat Herbert the Happy Salad too … you’re right, how could anyone resist?

  4. Oh my goodness, it all looks delicous!! I couldn’t even decide on which meal to comment on haha πŸ™‚

  5. Ooh we have a Buffalo Wild Wings near us and I’ve heard it’s good. Maybe this will be initiative to go now!

Leave a Reply

